Desert Sunset Glam

Facetune(1)

I was playing around with the new Too Faced Sugar Pop Eye Palette the other day and I came up with this fun look. It’s a nice way to add a little pop of color with the orange on the lid and the bright pink on the lower lashline. After I was done, I found the colors I applied reminded me of a sunset I had seen in Sedona, a beautiful area in the desert of Arizona. It looks something like this…

The Sugar Pop Eye Palette is a wonderful little palette–the colors are very pigmented and apply very smoothly. It also has a nice mix of neutrals and bright colors that are perfect for spring/summer. It retails for $36 and I think it’s a reasonable price for the quality of the product.

sugar pop palette

Step 1: Start with your gorgeous blank face.

step 1 desert glam naked face

I applied my normal skincare regime–toner, serum, moisturizer, and eye cream. I generally hold off on applying foundation until I am done with my eyeshadow, in case I have a lot of fallout.


Step 2: Prep & Prime

step 2 desert glam primePrime your lids with your primer of choice. Here I am using Tarte’s Colored Clay CC Eye Primer. You swipe it on like a crayon and blend it out with your fingers. It’s a good product, but I have had big problems with the packaging.


Step 3: Base Shades step 3

Colors You’ll be Using in this Step

Grab your standard transition shade on a crease brush. I recommend using a matte shade just slightly darker than your own skin tone. For myself, I use Wit from Stila Eyes are the Window to the Mind Pallete.


step 3 desert glam transition

Apply color in a windshield wiper motion to your crease. Back and forth, back and forth. You really can’t mess this up, you’re just applying the base for your more dramatic eyeshadow on top!


step 3 lid


Grab your lid shade with a flat eyeshadow brush, which would ideally just be your nude skin color. For myself, I use Genius from that same Stila palette. Swipe it all over the lid, from eyelashes to crease.

At this point, it will not really look like you’ve done much. That’s okay, we’ve only really started!


Step 4: Let’s Start Playing with Color

color pop upper


step 4 a

Grab the shade for your outer V, Malted Milk Ball, on your preferred brush. I normally don’t use any sparkly shadows in this area, but Malted Milk Ball actually has more of a satin finish.  I actually just use a squared off eyeshadow brush for this. We’re not aiming to be super precise for this yet. Starting on the outer corner of your eyelid/crease, apply Malted Milk Ball by inward short strokes. When you have built up the color to the depth you’re happy with, work it inward on the crease a little.


step 4 B

Take a clean fluffy blending brush and go to town on the outer edges of that brown we just applied. Blend, blend, blend. If you find the brown color is too light for your liking after blending, you can go back and intensify the color by repeating the above a second time.



step 4cApply your lid color, Macaron, from eyelashes to crease. Take the fluffy blending brush and blend out the edges around the crease and where Macaron meets Malted Milk Ball. You will probably need to go back and reintensify and blend a couple times, as Macaron is a little sheer. Note: At this point, I go and apply my foundation, eyebrows, and undereye concealer. Any fallout from this point is pretty minimal, plush it’s helpful to have eyebrows done before you do your eyebrow highlight.





step 4DPick up your eyebrow highlight color, Rock Candy, apply underneath your brows. You could also use this to highlight your inner corner if you want (I used Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal for my inner corner).

Awkward eye contact with the camera is optional.


Step 5: Line your Lids

step 5 dg

Tightline your eyes with black eyeliner (i.e. line the area between your eyelashes and eyeballs). Then apply the black eyeliner to your waterline. You could do a more dramatic eyeliner if you want, but this is what suits my eye shape the best. I am using Make up For Ever Aqua Eyes in Matte Black.



Step 6: Lower Lashline

lower lash line

step 6a

Pick up Peach Fuzz (color 1) on a smudge brush and apply all over the lower lashline.


Step 6B

Apply Malted Milk Ball (number 2) to the outer 2/3 of the lower lashline using your smudger brush.


step 6 C

Using a damp flat liner brush, pick up Bubblegum (color 3) and press into the outer 2/3 of lashline. You will probably need to go over the same area twice to get the color built up appropriately.





Finish the Look

PicMonkey Collage 1For mascara, I applied Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Lashes.

desert glam finished

PS I LOVE what this did for my hazel eyes. I also feel obligated to say that I self-tanned in between the top photo and when I shot this tutorial.

One thought on “Desert Sunset Glam

Leave a Reply

